Shivanga for Men

Shivanga Initiation and Culmination Dates for 2017 & 2018

Initiation

Culmination

Dec 03, Sunday (2017) Jan 16, Tuesday (Thai Amavasya)
Jan 1, Monday Feb 13, Tuesday (Mahashivratri)
Jan 31, Wednesday Mar 16, Friday
Mar 1, Thursday April 15, Sunday
Mar 31, Saturday May 14, Monday
Apr 29, Sunday (Chitra Purnima) June 13, Wednesday
May 29, Friday (Buddha Purnima) July 12, Thursday
June 27, Wednesday Aug 10, Friday (Adi Amavasya)
July 27, Friday (Gurupurnima) Sep 9, Sunday
Aug 26, Sunday Oct 8, Monday (Mahalaya Amavasya)
Sep 24, Monday Nov 6, Tuesday (Deepavali)
Oct 24, Wednesday Dec 6, Thursday
Nov 22, Thursday Jan 2019
Dec 22, Saturday Feb 2019

 

Sadhana Guidelines for Men:

  • The sadhana begins on Pournami and ends on Shivarathri, 42 days later.
  • Shivangas will be initiated into the Shivanamaskar practice and the appropriate mantras.
  • Shivanamaskaram should be done with devotion 21 times a day, either before sunrise or after sunset on an empty stomach.
  • It is mandatory for the Shivangas to be at the Dhayanalinga in Coimbatore on Shivarathri.
  • Shower/bath should be taken twice a day. Herbal bathing powder (snanam podi) can be used instead of soap.
  • Biksha must be received from at least 21 people.
  • During the period of the vrata, smoking, consuming alcohol and eating non-vegetarian food are not allowed.
  • Only 2 meals can be had during the day. The first meal should be after 12 noon.
  • Whites or light color clothing can be worn during the Sadhana period.

Shivanga for Men

For registration and more details…